Posted by: Chris | July 26, 2007

A Little Amateur Skepticism…

As you know, I am a teacher, not a marketer. And even though surely there can never be a teacher who would have skills in marketing, I, an admitted teacher (and not a professional marketer), am a little surprised at the hype over two recent developments in social media:

1. The incorporation of audio into Slideshare presentations.

Ummm, it’s based on a technology that’s over a decade old, right? Don’t get me wrong, it is a pretty big move…for PowerPoint.

2. A rumored Facebook IPO within 2 years (heard it for the first time today on CNBC).

You know how Facebook is really popular right now? Right. That could be a sure sign that it’s on its way out. And I do know one thing for sure: teenagers, the bread and butter of Facebook, are realizing that their mommies and daddies (and teachers) are also on Facebook. Yuck! It reminds me of when George Costanza’s mother, Estelle, says that she’s “out there” (that is, on the open market following a near divorce from Frank), and George responds, “You’re not out there! You can’t be, because I’m out there. And if I see you out there, there’s not enough voltage in this world to electroshock me back into coherence!” Sure, Facebook may separate itself from the pack and become a permanent force the way Google did. I just remember when Classmates.com was big, and Xanga, and more recently, MySpace. If I were a VC, there is no way I would touch this one.

Excuse the cynicism.

Leave a Reply

Categories

