Posted by: Chris | April 25, 2008

Friday Favorites: April 21-25

Wow, just two faves last week and eight this week! What a great week! (Or more accurately, what a less-busy week.)

Crisis Communications and Social Media– Great thoughts and practical suggestions for “writ[ing] social media into your crisis plans,” by Leigh Householder at Advergirl.

Learning Viral: The Basic Viral Model– From Noah Kagan of OkDork, a clear breakdown and analysis of an oft over/misused marketing buzzword. I love formulas! Noah wraps it up with a concise explanation of what to do with your formula results.

10 Combinations to Create Engagement– I also love lists, and this list by Anna Farmery at The Engaging Brand Blog epitomizes her blog’s title well. Clip it in your Classics folder.

Right-Selling Customers– Becky Carroll at Customers Rock! articulates a wise balance between under- and over-selling: right-selling.

How Well Do You Know Your Customers?– Laura Spencer at Business and Blogging reminds us of the simple things we can be doing to meet the needs of our customers through real relationships.

#174. Forcing little kids to sing at the end of your song– An odd title until you realize that the post is from a list that is the very substance of the blog itself: Stuff Christians Like. Jon Acuff (assuming that is his name), a copywriter in Atlanta, has the uncanny ability to isolate some of the most amusing idiosyncrasies of the Church. I mention this post, not so much because of the marketing implications (although there are many in every piece he posts), but because the guy is just hilarious and one of the best writers I have read in a long time. (And the fact that one of his favorite books is The Great Gatsby speaks volumes.) Make sure you read his apology at the bottom and the comments that prompted it. It’s just the icing on the cake!

The Physics of Marketing – Newton’s Law of Gravitation– I just began subscribing to davidebowman this week because of this very post from the site’s namesake. Very logical and effective marketing analogy. Nice writing style too. Hat tip to John Moore at Brand Autopsy for mentioning it.

Why The Open Rate Must Die– As the “e-newsletter guy” for my company’s magazine, Open Rate is typically a metric my boss and I discuss frequently. I took the opportunity to pass this post by Loren McDonald at Media Post’s e-mail Insider along to him. Be sure to read the comments section too!

Responses

  1. Hi Chris!

    Thanks for including a link to Business and Blogging.

  2. Chris,

    Thanks for subscribing to my site, and for mentioning it on yours. I will do my best to keep you coming back. I must admit that I was laughing out loud when reading your take on making kids sing at the end of songs. Great stuff. I really enjoy your site. Thanks again.

  3. Hey glad you enjoyed the list…I am always amazed by the power of Google Alerts that let you find new styles, new people, new thinking..all from the comfort of your own PC 🙂
    Anna

  4. Laura, it was my pleasure! Thanks David. The kids singing reference was from “Stuff Christians Like,” a hilarious blog from a guy whose name I think is John Acuff. Not sure if he intended for it to be a marketing blog, but so much of what he has to share is essential knowledge for positioning within the church world. Anna, I’ve followed your blog for some time now and I always appreciate your work. I like your focus on “conversation,” especially it pertains to social media. Thanks to all of you for stopping by!


Leave a Reply

Categories

